HomeAbout UsWorldwide OfficesContact UsLinks
Home > Jurisdictions > The Caribbean > The Cayman Islands


The Cayman Islands are a British colony situated in the Caribbean Sea approximately 500 miles South of Miami, Florida. The Islands enjoy sophisticated legal, accounting and banking services Map and derive political stability by virtue of their connection with Britain. The legal system is British and the government is headed by a Governor appointed by the Crown who presides over a Government made up of twelve locally elected members and three senior civil servants who hold ex-officio office.

There is no exchange control and no restrictions on the movement of funds to or from the Islands.

The Confidential Relationships (Preservations) Law makes it a criminal offence for any person to divulge confidential information to a third party and the Cayman Islands have no double taxation treaties with any other part of the world but have undertaken to assist foreign governments by giving them information where a Cayman Island Company has been used or involved in activities which are mutually considered as criminal. Tax offences would not be covered by this treaty so no information would be revealed where allegations of tax offences are made.