HomeAbout UsWorldwide OfficesContact UsLinks


Vanuatu, located 1,500 miles north-east of Australia, became independent in 1980. Vanuatu has a political and legal system that closely follows the UK being a parliamentary democracy based on the Westminster system, and the law is based on English law. MapThe official languages are French and English, and the currency is the Vatu. The 80 small islands that make up Vanuatu are administered from Port Vila, and are connected to the outside world by excellent telecommunications and flights to major cities in Australia and New Zealand. The International Companies Act passed in December 1992 provides for the incorporation of the International Company (IC) which is preferred over the exempt company. ICs do not have the concept of authorised capital.